About the University

About the University

University Highlights

The University of Liège (ULiège), in Liège, Wallonia, Belgium, is a major public university in the French Community of Belgium. As of 2016, ULiège is ranked in the #251–300 category worldwide according to Times Higher Education, 265nd by QS World University Rankings, and between the 205th and 300th place by the Academic Ranking of World Universities. More than 2000 people, academics, scientists and technicians, are involved in research of a wide variety of subjects from basic research to applied research.

University of Liège is located in the heart of Europe and is based in Liège, Belgium. It has direct railway connections with, Antwerp, Namur and Charleroi, Luxembourg, Maastricht in the Netherlands, and Aachen in Germany.

The university campus is located in the outskirts of the city. Easy access, regular public buses travel to and from the city centre in approximately 15 minutes. Close to the city centre yet in a peaceful environment, the campus provides ideal surroundings for academic achievement. Founded in 1817, the University of Liège is the only public Community-sponsored University in the French-speaking part of Belgium which offers a complete range of university modules at undergraduate and postgraduate levels.

HEC Liège Executive Education’s ambition is to enable the School to provide services to the community. It thus puts at the heart of its concerns the companies and organizations offering them tailor-made training.

In addition, the Executive Education is an excellent laboratory to develop bold and creative pedagogies and training devices that aim to percolate towards the initial training.

Ranking and Recognition

1). The only complete public university in the Belgian French-speaking community, the University of Liège prides itself on its pluralistic vision and on its pursuit of excellence in teaching, research, and innovation. It is a member of the Wallonia-Europe University Academy (together with Gembloux Agro Bio Tech)

2). University of Liège is ranked 301 – 350th globally in the Times Higher Education - QS World University Rankings 2017

3). University of Liège is 2009 and 2010 European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS) and Diploma Supplement (DS) Label Holders.

4). HEC Liège is a member of the US-based Association to Advance Collegiate
Schools of Business (AACSB).

5). HEC Liège is a member of European Foundation for Management Development (EFMD). Their Master in Management Science and Doctoral program are EPAS (EFMD Program Accreditation System) accredited.

6) HEC Liège is firmly focused on its students, its alumni and its partners. The school's commitment to, and continuing investment in quality improvement has been recognized through the award EQUIS delivered by the International accreditation organism EFMD and AACSB, USA.

The Faculty

The Executive Doctorate in Business Administration is jointly developed and delivered by HEC Liège Executive Education, Management School - University of Liège professors and local lecturers who are skilled educators, researchers, and experienced industry practitioners. The faculty leverages their research and business expertise to impart new knowledge and powerful concepts that shape the future of management. In this program, a powerful and effective teaching team makes every participant embrace multiple perspectives and challenge their thinking to high levels. More detailed biographies in www.hecexecutiveschool.be

World-Renowned Faculty

Zénon-M. Bacq (1903–1983), radiobiologist

Florent-Joseph Bureau (1906–1999), mathematician

Eugène Charles Catalan, mathematician

André Danthine, computer scientist

Marcel Florkin (1900–1979), medicine, biochemistry

Laurent-Guillaume de Koninck (1809–1887), palaeontologist and chemist

Émile Louis Victor de Laveleye, economist

Marie Delcourt (1891–1979), classical philologist

Philippe Devaux (1902–1979), philosopher

Paul Fourmarier (1877–1970), geologist

Paul Gochet (1932), philosopher

Groupe µ, Group of semioticians

Godefroid Kurth (1847–1916), historian

Paul Ledoux (1914–1988), astrophysicist

Jean-Pierre Nuel (1847–1920), physiologist

Pol Swings (1906–1983), astrophysicist

Edouard Van Beneden (1846–1910), biologist

Theodor Schwann (1810–1882), biologist

Notable Alumni

For full list see University of Liège alumni

Joaquín Arderíus, novelist

Philippe Bodson, engineer

Albert Claude, Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 1974

Marie Delcourt, first female professor at the ULiège

Marcel Detienne, philosophy and literature (PhD)

Paul Demaret, rector of the College of Europe

Jacques H. Drèze, economist

Paul Fredericq (1850–1920), historian

Michel A. J. Georges, veterinary, 2008 Francqui Prize

Jean Gol (1942–1995), lawyer, politician

Alexis Jacquemin (1938–2004), economy, 1983 Francqui Prize on Human Sciences

David Keilin, entomologist

Auguste Kerckhoffs, Dutch linguist and cryptographer

Jean-Marie Klinkenberg, linguist and semiotician

Jan Kowalewski, Polish cryptologist

Wincenty Kowalski, Polish military commander

Marc Lacroix (1963- ), biochemist

Joseph Lebeau, statesman

Jean-Christophe Marine, biologist

Marcel Nicolet, Belgian physicist and meteorologist[5]

Jean-Baptiste Nothomb, statesman and diplomat

Stanisław Olszewski, Polish engineer and inventor

Paul Pastur, lawyer and politician (1866–1938)

Joseph Plateau (1801–1883), physicist

Georges Poulet, literary critic

Guy Quaden, economist, Governor of the National Bank of Belgium

Jean Rey (1902–1983), second President of the European Commission

Max Rooses, writer

Léon Rosenfeld, physicist

Philippe-Charles Schmerling, pioneer in paleontology

Theodor Schwann, developer of cell theory and discoverer of Schwann cells

Polidor Swings, 1948 laureate of the Francqui Prize

Haroun Tazieff, French vulcanologist and geologist

André Henri Constant van Hasselt, poet

Inquiry: 852-25277999